“O My Son, Cling To Narrations”


Qutaybah Ibn Sa’eed (149-240) said;

“At a young age I began to seek opinion (ra’ee), but then I saw in a dream that a bucket was let down from the sky and I saw the people trying to take water from it, but being unable to reach it.

So I came and looked into it, and I saw what was between the east and the west.

Then, when I awoke in the morning, I came to Mikhda’ Al-Bazzaar, who was proficient in interpreting dreams, and I told him about my dream.

So he said, “O my son, cling to the narrations, since opinion does not reach the east nor the west, rather that is only reached by the narrations.

So I abandoned opinions and took to the narrations.”

A Quick Bio Of Qutaybah Ibn Sa’eed:

Those who he narrates from includes the likes of: Imaam Maalik, Imaam Al-Layth, Ibn Al-Mubaarak, Fudayl Ibn ‘Iyaad, Sufyaan Ibn Uyaynah, amongst others.

Those who narrate from him include the likes of: Imaam Bukhaaree, Imaam Muslim, Aboo Daawood, Nisaa’ee, Tirmidhee, Imaam Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, Aboo Haatim amongst others.

He travelled to Makkah, Madeenah, ‘Iraaq, Shaam And Egypt, and died in 240H.

[Refer to “Siyaar A’laamin Nubulaa”, of Adh-Dhahabee, Vol. 11, Pp. 13-14]

2 Responses to ““O My Son, Cling To Narrations””

  1. Asslamu’alaikum Wa rahmathullahi Wa Barakatuh Akhi,

    A typo in line 3: “a dream tha a bucket “. “tha” = That

    BaarakAllahu Feekum

Leave a reply:

