Shaykh Al-Albaanee’s Humility & Dislike For Being In The Spotlight


Concerning the Imaam of Hadeeth, the Shaykh – Muhammad Naasiruddeen al-Albaanee (rahima-hullaah) Abu Laylaa al-Atharee narrated:

In 1405 AH, during a journey to Saudi Arabia, we were travelling in the same car as the Shaykh and his wife, Umm al-Fadhl. When we arrived in Makkah, we were guests of a friend of the Shaykh, (popularly) known as Abu ‘Arab.

Whilst there, a discourse occurred between the Shaykh and one of the followers of ‘Alawee al-Maalikee, regarding (celebrating) the birthday of the Prophet (sal-Allaahu ‘alayhe wa sallam).

After they finished their exchange, Abu ‘Arab invited the Shaykh to visit Bangladesh for a period of three days; in order to give da’wah of tawheed to the brothers from Ahlul-Hadeeth, whose number reached into millions.

However, the Shaykh excused himself by saying: “I cannot.

The invitation was then put to him a second time, whereupon he replied: “I cannot.

The invitation was put to him a third time, only this time he was requested to go to Bangladesh for just one day, whereupon the Shaykh replied: “I cannot.”

When we returned to the sleeping quarters, we wanted to take a little nap. So we removed a table which was in the centre of the room and I then brought a pillow for us; the Shaykh laid his head at one end whilst I laid my head at the other end, in the opposite direction. It was then that I put a question to the Shaykh which had been burning up inside me.

I said, “O Shaykh! Why did you refuse to go (to Bangladesh)?

He replied, “Indeed I feared fitnah for myself!

[Al-Imaam al-Mujaddid al-’Allaamah al-Muhaddith Muhammad Naasiruddeen al-Albaanee – Page 59. Also quoted in “Jewels Of Guidance”, p. ?]

One Response to “Shaykh Al-Albaanee’s Humility & Dislike For Being In The Spotlight”

  1. I think the title of this post could be misleading. Sheikh Albani might have meant that there is too much fitnah in Bangladesh which is why he refused to visit. If someone could clarify the implication of this post, I’d appreciate. JazakAllah Kheiran.

Leave a reply:

