Being Pleased With Qadar [Quotes From The Salaf], Part 2


‘Abdul Wahhaab Ibn Ziyaad said:

“I can’t think of any deeds that are more virtuous than patience except for being pleased [with Allaah and His Qadar] and similarly I don’t know of a level higher and nobler than being pleased [with Allaah and His Qadar] and it is the head of loving Allaah.”

[Al-Hilyah, 6/163]

Sufwaan Ath-Thawree said:

“Three qualities are from patience:

(a) not speaking about your misfortune,

(b) (not speaking about) your pain, and

(c) not praising yourself.”

[Al-Hilyah, 6/389]

Ibn Abee Rawaad said:

“Once I saw a sore on Muhammad Ibn Waassi’s hand and it was as if he saw how difficult I saw that to be. So he asked me, ‘Do you know what favour Allaah has over me with regards to this blister?‘ I kept silent. He continued, ‘He didn’t make it on my eye, or (on) the tip of my tingue, or (on) the tip of my penis.‘ Thereupon his sore became easy for me to bear.”

[As-Sabr, p.184]

‘Umar Ibn ‘Abdul-‘Azeez said:

“Allaah never blesses a slave with a favour and then takes it away form him and then recompenses him in its place with patience, except that which He recompensed him with [patience] was better than what He took away from him.”

[‘Iddatus Saabireen, p. 24]

Leave a reply:

