Implementing The Sharee’ah Even On Your Loved Ones


The Prophet (saw)

The Messenger of Allaah (saw) said, “By Him in Whose Hand my soul is! If Fatima (the daughter of the Prophet) did that (i.e. stole), I would cut off her hand.” [Bukhaaree from ‘Aa’ishah]

Aboo Bakr

After Aboo Bakr’s son accepted Islaam, he said to his father, “By Allaah, I saw you in the battle of Badr, but I dodged you because I didn’t want to fight (and kill) you.”

So Aboo Bakr replied, “By Allaah, I did not see you, but if I did see you, I would have fought and killed you.

‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab

When ‘Umar was stabbed, his son ‘Ubaydullaah  killed the killer (Aboo Lu’lu), as well as the two men who were with him who conspired with him to kill ‘Umar (Hormuzaan and Jufaynah), as well as killing Aboo Lu’lu’s daughter for (a) concealing the matter and (b) hiding the weapon for her father. ‘Umar had ordered that his son ‘Ubaydullah be imprisoned so that he might be judged by the caliph after him. [Al-Bidaayah Wa An-Nihaayah, 7/154]

We also know that ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattab ordered his son to be brought to him in Madeenah, and he flogged his son himself because he found out that he had been drinking wine while he was in Egypt.

Furthermore he killed his own maternal uncle Al-‘Aas Ibn Hishaam in the battle of Badr.

‘Uthmaan Ibn ‘Affaan

‘Uthman said, “I love my relatives and I give to them (from my own money), but my love for them did not make me support them when they were in wrong, rather I treat them the same as everyone else.” [Taarekh At-Tabaree, 5/365]

It was narrated that Husayn Ibn Al-Mundhir said: I was present with ‘Uthmaan Ibn ‘Affaan when Al-Waleed (his brother from his mother) was brought and two men falsely testified that he had drunk wine, and another falsely testified that he had seen him vomiting.’Uthmaan said: “He would not have vomited unless he drank it.” Al-Waleed was brought from Koofah and he swore an oath to ‘Uthmaan and told him about them (as these ‘witnesses’ had their relative executed due to the rules of retaliation (qisaas) ny Al-Waleed and hence they plotted against Al-Waleed and fabricated this story.) ‘Uthmaan said, “We will carry out the hadd punishment (on Waleed) and let the one who bears false witness dwell in Hell, be patient O my brother.” ‘Uthmaan then said: “O ‘Ali, get up and flog him.” ‘Ali said: “Get up, O Hasan, and flog him.” Al-Hasan said: “Let the one who is in authority cary out the punishment.” It is as if he was upset with him. He said: “O ‘Abdullaah Ibn Ja’far, get up and flog him.” So he flogged him and’Ali counted until he reached forty, then he said: “Stop.” He said: “The Prophet (saw) gave forty lashes, and Abu Bakr gave forty, and ‘Umar gave eighty; both are Sunnah but this is dearer to me.” [Wilaayat Al-Shurtah Fee Al-Islaam, p.105]

Sa’eed Ibn Al-‘Aas

The father of Sa’eed Ibn Al-‘Aas was killed as a Mushrik at the battle of Badr by ‘Alee Ibn Abee Taalib. ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab said to him, “I did not kill your father, rather I killed my maternal uncle Al-‘Aas Ibn Hishaam.” So Sa’eed said, “Even if you had killed him, you would have been right, and he would have been in the wrong.” [‘Uthmaan, His Life And Times, p. 403]

Marwaan Ibn Al-Hakam

Marwaan’s brother (‘Abdur-Rahmaan) slapped a free slave of the people of Madeenah who was working as a wheat-seller during the period when Marwaan was governor of Madeenah, and the wheat-seller complained to Marwaan. He had his brother ‘Abdur-Rahmaan brought to him and he made him sit before the wheat-seller and said to him, “Slap him.” The wheat-seller said, “By Allaah, I did not want this, all I wanted was to tell him that he has a governor over him who will support me against him. I forgive you.” Marwaan said, “I will not accept that from you, take your right.” And the wheat-seller ended up forgiving him.

One Response to “Implementing The Sharee’ah Even On Your Loved Ones”

  1. “The Majority of those who shout for an Islaamic law in the world have neither an Islaamic law in their own homes, in themselves, their sons, daughters or their wives. The one who has nothing can’t give anything.”

    [Silsilat-ul-Hudâ wan-Nûr 352, By Shaykh Albaanee]

Leave a reply:

