Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee In The Heart Of The Battle Of Al-Qaadisiyyah


The battle of Al-Qaadisiyyah took place in 14 H during the caliphate of ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab. The Muslims (under the leadership of Sa’d Ibn Abee Waqqaas) were fighting the Persians (under the leadership of Rustam).

On the second day of the battle the battle went on till midnight. Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee had been detained and put in chains, and he was in the palace. In the evening he went up to Sa’d and asked him to forgive him and let him go (to fight the Persians in the battle). Sa’d rebuked him, so he went back down and went to Salma Bint Khasafah and said, “O Salma, O daughter of Aal Khasafah, do you want to do something good?

She said, “What is it?

He said, “Let me go and lend me Al-Balqa’ (a horse). By Allaah, if Allaah keeps me safe and sound I will come back to you and put my feet in these chains.”

She said, “Why would I do that?

So he went back with his feet still in chains, expressing in verse his sorrow at not being able to join the army alongside the Muslims, and promising Allaah that he would never visit taverns again if he got the chance to join the army.

Salma said, “I prayed istikhaarah and I trust you.”

She let him go and said, “But as for the horse, I will not lend it to you.”

She went back to her house, but he still took the horse. He led it out of the gate of the castle that was closest to the ditch, then he mounted it and galloped off until he approached the right flank of the army. Then he said takbeer and charged at the left flank of the enemy, wielding his spear and his weapon among the ranks.

Then he went to the back of the Muslim army and moved to the left flank, where he said takbeer and charged at the right flank of the enemy, wielding his spear and his weapon among the ranks.

Then he went back behind the Muslim army and charged at the heart of the enemy army, wielding his spear and his weapon among the ranks.

That night he fought the enemy in an amazing manner, and the people were impressed with him, but they did now know who he was, for they had not seen him at the beginning of the battle. Some of them said he must be one of the companions of Hishaam (the backup army of 6000 that was on their way to help the Muslims), or Hishaam himself (the leader over this backup army, and nephew of Sa’d Ibn Abee Waqqaas).

As he was watching the people, lying on his stomach at the top of the fort (due to his injury), Sa’d said, “By Allaah, were it not that Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee is detained, I would have said that this is Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee and this (horse) is Al-Balqa’.”

Rumours flew as to who that man was. At midnight the Persians retreated and the Muslims did likewise. Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee went back to where he had come out from, and put his feet back in their chains. Salma said to him, “O Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee, why did this man detain you?”

He said, “By Allaah, he did not detain me for something that I ate or drank, but I was a drinker at the time of Jaahiliyyah, and I am a poet, I say whatever comes to my lips and sometimes that gets me into trouble. That is why he detained me. I said in one of my poems:

If I die, bury me next to a grapevine so that its roots may irrigate my veins.
Do not bury me in the wilderness for I fear that I would never taste it again.”

The next day Salma told Sa’d Ibn Abee Waqqaas about what had happened. he called him and let him go saying, “Go, and I will not hold anything against you for what you say unless you do it.”

He said, “Rest assured that I will never do what my tongue says, if it says something objectionable.”

[Taareekh At-Tabaree, 4/374]

2 Responses to “Aboo Mihjaan Ath-Thaqafee In The Heart Of The Battle Of Al-Qaadisiyyah”

  1. Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatallahu wa barakatu.
    Jazakallah khair for the post. Just want to let you know inshAllah about a spelling mistake. You have spelt what I presume to be midnight as modnight in the following sentence: Rumours flew as to who that man was. At modnight the Persians retreated and the Muslims did likewise…
    Anyway, wasalamu alaykum wa rahmatallahu wa barakatu.

Leave a reply:

