The Three Categories Of Patience, By Sh. Saalih Al-Fawzaan

The categories of patience are three:

The First: Being patient upon the obedience of Allaah. Meaning the believer accustoms himself to being continuously obedient to Allaah.

The Second: Being patient in staying away from the prohibitions of Allaah. This may require an extra level of patience because the nafs commands the body to do evil and to act upon the muharramaat (unlawful). Thus the individual has to be patient with his nafs (lowly desires) in refraining form following them which will ultimately cause him to embark upon those acts that are prohibited.

The Third: Being patient with the Divine Decree (Qadr) of Allaah, which can sometimes be very bitter to the individual. He should not do anything or utter anything except what is good and pleasing to Allaah. He does not complain nor does he hold any resentment towards the Divine Decree of Allaah.

[“The Virtues Of Salaat” by Shaykh Saalih Al-Fawzaan, Pp.23-24]


Leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: