What Was The Inheritance Of Zakariyyah? By Ibn Al-Qayyim


Allaah says, quoting the statement of Zakariyyah (as):

And Verily! I fear (for) my relatives after me, since my wife is barren. So give me from Yourself an heir. Who shall inherit me, and inherit (also) the posterity of Ya’qub (Jacob). And make him, my Lord, one with whom You are Well-pleased (with)!” [19:5-6]

Ibn Al-Qayyim comments:

“This is the inheritance of knowledge, prophethood and calling to Allaah. If this is not the case, then one cannot think a noble prophet would be fearful of his progeny inheriting his wealth so that he asks Allaah for a child and then withholds his inheritance from him while he has the most right over it. Allaah has freed His prophets and messengers from this and the likes of it.”

[Miftaah Daar As-Sa’aadah, By Ibn Al-Qayyim, 1/67]

Leave a reply:

