The Superiority Of ‘Aa’ishah


‘Urwah ibn az-Zubayr said: “I was acquainted with ‘A’ishah, and I have never seen anyone at all who was more knowledgeable of any verse that was revealed, any obligatory duty, any sunnah, anyone who was more well-versed in poetry or narrated more poetry; anyone who was more knowledgeable of Arabic history and lineage and so forth; or anyone who had more knowledge of judiciary matters or medicine than her.” [Siyar A’laam An-Nubula’, 2/193]

Ash-Sha’bi used to mention her and express his admiration for her understanding and knowledge, then he would say: “No wonder, when she learned from the Prophet (saw)!

‘Ata’ used to say: “ ‘Aa’ishah was the most knowledgeable of people and the most wise.” [Siyar A’laam An-Nubula’, 2/185]

Al-Ahnaaf Ibn Qays, the chief of Banu Tameem and one of the most eloquent of the Arabs, used to say: “I heard the speeches of Abu Bakr, ‘Umar, ‘Uthmaan, ‘Ali and the caliphs who came after them, and I never heard words from the mouth of any person that were more powerful and more beautiful than those of ‘A’ishah (ra).” Mu’aawiyah used to say something similar. [Siyar A’laam An-Nubula’, 2/183]

One Response to “The Superiority Of ‘Aa’ishah”

  1. Asalamu aleykum, I am a female from Kenya and I have spent the entire year looking for scholarships for Islamic schools but I couldn’t find any.If any of you could be kind as to guide me Allah will Inshaallah bless him.My family cannot afford my tuition.Jazakumullah khair.

Leave a reply:

