The Selflessness And Hayaa Of ‘Aa’ishah


The Selflessness Of ‘Aa’ishah:

When ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab was stabbed and he knew it was his end, he said to his son ‘Abdullaah:

“Go to ‘Aa’ishah, the Mother of the Believers, and say ‘Umar sends you salaams. Do not say Ameer Al-Mu’mineen, for today I am no longer the leader of the believers.”

In another narration he said to his son when ‘Aa’ishah gave him permission to be buried beside his two companions:

“When I die take me there then say salaam and say ‘ ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab is asking permission to enter.‘ If she gives permission, take me in, but if she refuses then take me to the graveyard of the Muslims.” [Bukhaaree]

An indication of the selflessness of ‘Aa’ishah is that she wished to be buried besides her husband (the prophet (saw)) and he father (Aboo Bakr), but when ‘Umar asked permission for that, she allowed it and gave preference to him over herself.

She said:

“I had wanted it for myself, but I gave it up today.” [Bukhaaree]

The Hayaa Of ‘Aa’ishah:

‘Aa’ishah said:

“I used to enter my house in which the Messenger of Allaah (saw) and Aboo Bakr (her father) were buried, but when ‘Umar was buried with them, by Allaah I did not enter it without covering myself properly, out of shyness towards ‘Umar.”

[Mahd As-Sawaab, 3/852]

Leave a reply:

