Quotes From The Salaf Regarding Following The Sunnah And Avoiding Innovations


Al-Awzaa’ee said, “It used to be said that there were five things that the companions of Muhammad (saw) and those who followed them in goodness were upon: (1) sticking to the jamaa’ah, (2) following the sunnah, (3) maintaining the masjids, (4) reciting the Quraan, and (5) making jihaad in Allaah’s cause.” [Hilyah, 8/142]

‘Ubaydullaah Ibn Waasil said, “I heard Ahmad As-Sirmaaree saying once after he pulled out his sword, ‘Know for sure, I have killed 1000 Turks (from the disbelievers) with this sword and if it wasn’t for my fear of it being an act of innovation, I would order for it to be buried with me.” [As-Siyar, 13/39]

Fudayl Ibn ‘Iyaad said, “Follow the paths of guidance and be harmed not by the small number of those who are guided. Beware of the paths of misguidance and don’t be deceived by the great number of those who are in ruin.” [Al-‘Itisaam, p.62]

Sufyaan Ath-Thawree said, “Treat the people of the sunnah kindly, for indeed they are strangers.” [Sharh Usool ‘Itiqaad Ahlis-Sunnah, 2/64]

Sufyaan Ath-Thawree also said, “If one man is in the east and another in the west, and they are both from the people of the sunnah, then send them the salaams and make du’aa for them. How few are the people of Ahlus-Sunnah Wal-Jamaa’ah.” [Sharh Usool ‘Itiqaad Ahlis-Sunnah, 2/64]

‘Abdur-Rahmaan Ibn Abee Az-Zinaad said, “A man was not considered a real man until he knew the sunnah.” [Al-Hilyah, 2/184]

Ayoob As-Sakhtiyaanee said, “Indeed the death of a man from the people of the sunnah reaches me and I feel as if I have lost one of my limbs.” [Al-Hilyah, 3/9]

Ibn Mubaarak said, “Beware of sitting with a person of innovation.” [As-Siyar, 8/411]

Aboo Qilaabah said, “Do not sit with the people of desires (i.e. the people of innovation), nor debate with them, for indeed, I don’t feel safe that they won’t drench you in their misguidance and confuse you with regards to that which you used to know.” [Ash-Shu’ab, 7/60]

Al-Hasan Al-Basree said, “Do not sit with a person if innovation, for surely he will disease your heart.” [Al-‘Itsaam, p.62]

Hasan Ibn Shaqeeq said, “Once we were with Ibn Al-Mubaarak when a man came to him, so he asked him, ‘Are you a Jahmee?” The man replied, ‘Yes.’ He then said to the man, ‘When you leave me then don’t come back to me.’ The man then said, ‘I have repented.’ He said to him, ‘No, until your repentance becomes clear the likes of which was clear form your innovation.’ ” [Ash-Sharh Wal-Ibaanah, p.166]

Sa’eed Ibn Jubayr said, “For my son to accompany a wicked sinner is more beloved to me than for him to accompany an innovator who performs great worship.” [Ash-Sharh Wal-Ibaanah, p.149]

One of the salaf said, “Whenever a man makes an innovation, the sweetness of hadeeth is removed from his heart.” [As-Siyar, 12/245]

Matr Al-Warraaq said, “A few deeds from the sunnah is better than many deeds of bid’ah. Whoever performs a deed from the sunnah, Allaah will accept it from him. And whoever performs an act of bid’ah, Allaah will reject his bid’ah.” [Al-Hilyah, 3/76]

Sa’eed Ibn ‘Aamir said, “Sulaymaan At-Taymee became extremely ill and began to cry greatly. So he was asked, ‘What causes you to cry? Are you in unrest from death?’ So he responded, ‘No, but I once passed by a Qadaree and gave him the salaams, so I fear that my Lord, the Mighty and Majestic, will take me to account for that!’ ” [Al-Hilyah, 3/32]

One Response to “Quotes From The Salaf Regarding Following The Sunnah And Avoiding Innovations”

  1. Siddiqui Says:

    ‘Ubaydullaah Ibn Waasil said, “I heard Ahmad As-Sirmaaree saying once after he pulled out his sword, ‘Know for sure, I have killed 1000 Turks (from the disbelievers) with this sword and if it wasn’t for my fear of it being an act of innovation, I would order for it to be buried with me.” [As-Siyar, 13/39]

    The quotation has merits. But given the age in which we live, it is best not to transmit such a quote through internet.

Leave a reply:

