‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee In The Trial Of The Quraan


Ibn ‘Ammaar Al-Mawsilee said in his Taareekh:

” ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee said to me, ‘What prevents you from declaring the Jahmiyyah to be disbelievers?‘ And at the beginning I had not used to declare them to be disbelievers. Then when ‘Alee (Ibn Al-Madeenee) consented to their saying in the trial (concerning the Quraan) I wrote to him reminding him of his saying to me, and I reminded him of Allaah.

Then later a man informed me about him that he had wept when he had read my letter. Then I later saw him and he said to me, ‘There is nothing in my heart of what I said with my tongue, (i.e. in response to the trial concerning the Quraan) and I responded because I feared that I whould be killed, and you are aware f my weakness, which is such that if I had been ashed a single time I would have died.‘ “

Al-Marroodhee said:

I heard a man from the people of the army say to Aboo ‘Abdullaah (Ahmad Ibn Hanbal);

“(‘Alee) Ibn Al-Madeenee sends the greeting of salaam to you.”

So he (Ahmad Ibn Hanbal) remained silent. So I said to Aboo ‘Abdulaah (Ahmad Ibn Hanbal):

” ‘Abbaas Al-‘Anbaree said to me that ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee mentioned a person and spoke against him, so ‘Abbaas Al-‘Anbaree said to ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee, ‘They will not accept your saying, rather they will only accept from Ahmad Ibn Hanbal.‘ So ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee said, ‘Ahmad was able to withstand lashes, whereas I could not withstand it.‘ “

Ibn ‘Ammaar also said, “He (‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee) did not consent out of belief in that, but merely through fear.

Muhammad Ibn ‘Uthmaan said, “I heard ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee say two months before he died, ‘The Quraan is the speech of Allaah, uncreated, and whoever says that it is created is a disbeliever.

Aboo Zur’ah abandoned narrating from ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee due to what occured from him during the trial, but Aboo Haatim used to narrate from him since ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madeenee disassociated himself from what he had done (i.e. under stress). Aboo Haatim said, “ ‘Alee (Ibn Al-Madeenee) was a sign amongst he people with regards to knowledge of hadeeth and hidden defects of transmission (‘ilal).

Adh-Dhahabee said, “Some people report from ‘Abdullaah Ibn Ahmad (Ibn Hanbal) that his father (Imaam Ahmad) withheld from narrating from ‘Alee Ibn Al-Madenee, but I do not see that. Rather ahaadeeth are reported from him in his Musnad, and there are a great number of ahaadeeth from him in Saheeh Bukhaaree.

[Siyaar A’laam An-Nubulaa, 11/41-60]

Leave a reply:

