Being Ashamed To Commit Sins


Muhammad Ibn Al-Fadl said:

“For the last forty years, I have not dictated to my recorder to record even one bad deed. If I did, I would be ashamed of both of them (i.e. the two angels).”

[Sifat Al-Safwah, by Ibn Al-Jawzee, 4/165]

3 Responses to “Being Ashamed To Commit Sins”

  1. Jazakallah khair for always updating these reminders. I always look forward to them. May Allah bless you and reward you.

  2. Salaam alaykom wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    Been reading it over and over but I still can’t understand. Enlighten me please.

    1. How can one be sure that he/she has ‘not dictated to my recorder to record even one bad deed.’?

    2. And why would he be ashamed of Both of them? Why both? I understand but don’t fully understand this part.

    • Wa ‘alaykum as-salaam wa rahmatUllaahi wa barakaatuh,

      1) Allaahu a’lam. He is probably refering to major sins and intentional “minor” sins, wAllaahu a’alam.

      2) Just as someone would be ashamed to commit a sin in front of someone else, then likewise we should be ashamed to commit sins in front of the two angels. Even if the one on the right only writes our good deeds, he still see’s our sins, and from haya is to feel ashamed in front of others.

      Hope this clears the issue iA…

      Wassalaamu ‘alaykum.

Leave a reply:

