‘Amr Ibn Al-‘Aas On His Deathbed


When ‘Amr Ibn Al-‘Aas was on his deathbed, his son said to him, “O my father, you used to say, would that I could meet a wise, intelligent man when he is dying, so that he might describe what he sees. You are (now) that man, so describe it to me.

He responded, “O my son, by Allaah it is as if I am lying in a box and breathing through the eye of a needle, and as if there is a thorny piercing branch being pulled from the bottom of my feet through to the top of my head.

[Tadhkirat Al-Qurtubee, p.19]

Leave a reply:

