Respecting The Scholars


NOTE: The reference to ‘scholars’ here refers to those who are upon the haqq, who do not fear the blame of the blamers, who speak the haqq even if it lands them in prison. Likewise the reference to ‘rulers’ refers to those who implement the Law of Allaah without ‘abrogating’ it for man made laws. Those rulers who worship the Kuffaar and do not implement the Shariah are not to be respected.

Ayyoob Ibn Al-Quryah said:

“The people that have the most right to be honored are three: (1) The scholars, (2) the brothers, (3) and the rulers. Therefore whoever has disdain and belittles the scholars has corrupted his manhood. Whoever has disdain and belittles the rulers has corrupted his present life, and the intelligent does not have disdain and belittle anyone.”

[Jaami Bayaan Al-‘Ilm Wa Fadhlihi, 1/46]

Taawoos Ibn Kaysaan said:

“It is from the sunnah to respect four types of people: (1) the scholar, (2) the elder, (3) the ruler, (4) and the father.”

[Musannaf of ‘Abdur-Razaaq, 11/137]

Ash-Sha’abee said:

“Once Zayd Ibn Thaabit led the prayer and then a camel was brought for him to ride. So Ibn ‘Abbaas came and took hold of the camel’s mount (for him to ascend). At this, Zayd told him, ‘Leave it alone, O son of the Messenger of Allaah’s uncle (i.e. cousin).

So Ibn ‘Abbaas replied, ‘This is how we treat the scholars and elders.‘ “

[Majma’ Az-Zawaa’id, 9/345]

16 Responses to “Respecting The Scholars”

  1. “Tie your camel first, then put your trust in Allah” (At-Tirmidhi, 2517)

    had to say it again.
    thank you brother for about the father part.

    I think reciting surah Ya seen every friday after jumaah friday
    can get you a hoor al ayn…

  2. i think the hoor al ayn will be more beautiful than wordly women in jannah but not in rank

    I think the wordly women will have the same faces just be given makeup boxes to put on there faces

    mashaa Allaah

    Hoor Al Ayn are very blessed models of jannah

    hoor al ayn of jannah sing every friday and every ramadan.!

  3. i think hell is ugly as a women wearing red clothes…..

  4. astaghfirullah no no Allaah is merciful Allaah forgives….

    I think women will go to jannah more women in jannah than men….

  5. And [make him] a messenger to the Children of Israel, [who will say], ‘Indeed I have come to you with a sign from your Lord in that I design for you from clay [that which is] like the form of a bird, then I breathe into it and it becomes a bird by permission of Allah . And I cure the blind and the leper, and I give life to the dead – by permission of Allah . And I inform you of what you eat and what you store in your houses. Indeed in that is a sign for you, if you are believers.

    Surat ‘Āli `Imrān

    Prophet Isa will respond, “All Praise be to You! How could I ever say something so evil? I could never utter something so unbefitting of Your majesty! You know what I say and do better than I know it myself. I only commanded them to worship You. And You are their Lord and my Lord. All Praise belongs to You alone.”

    (Surah Ma’idah, 116-120)

    I love Eisaa Alahi as salam
    I love him so much.

    Ya Rabb forgive me

    I love him I love him

  6. I heard india will become muslim when Eisaa alahi asalam decends so will rome…..

  7. Bethelehem baby…

  8. OUR ISLAM IS HISTORY AND FUTURE!

    MONOTHEISM!

  9. ALLAHU AKBAR!

    I LOVE THE SAHABAH THEY ARE MORE BELOVED TO ALLAH THAN US

    BATTLE OF BADR!

    : Hakim in Mustadrak and Abu as-Shaykh in Tabaqaat al-Isfahani’ in a report from Sayyiduna Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiyallahu ta’ala anhuma) that:

    “Allah revealed to Prophet ‘Isa ‘alaihis salam that: O ‘Isa! Have faith (imaan) in Muhammad and order your ummah to do the same. If Muhammad was not in existence, I would not have created Adam nor would I have made heaven or hell”. (Also from Shaykh Taqi ad-Din Subki in Shifa as-Siqam and Shaykh al-Islam al-Bulqini in his Fatawa and ibn Hajar in Afdal al-Qur’an).

    we will enter jannah before other ummahs this ummah of Nabi Muhammad!

  10. I’m better than chirstian girls!

    my forefathers walked to the kaaba!

    my islam will be the only religion on earth!

  11. i hate girls who bake cookies and shove them down there husbands throats i hate girls who care all about baking….

  12. when a man is alone with a women the third becomes shaytan….

    Allaah cursed the women with a swinging gate….

  13. stop worrying relax and be happy
    it’s blessed life in islam
    just show gentleness…
    be just, in anger
    justice of Abu bakr Siddiuqe
    justices of 4 rightly guided caliphas
    it’s almost ramadan
    “He who hides the faults of a Muslim, Allah will hide his faults in the world and (will forgive his faults) on Judgment Day.”

    • Sis, I believe u need a more active platform where lots of other Muslims engage and comment on, for example “Ummah Forums”.

      Pls give that a try as I’m sure you will find more Muslims there who you can interact and have discussions with.

  14. who is this akhi? why are you not stopping the user from posting personal and unrelated comments?

Leave a reply:

