Seeking Benefit From The Dead, By Ibn Al-‘Arabi (Al-Maaliki)


After mentioning the virtue of visiting one’s brother for the sake of Allaah, Ibn Al-‘Arabi said:

“This applies if he is alive. If he is dead, it is permissible to visit his grave too and to pray for mercy for him so that the deceased may benefit from the living (by his du’aa). But he should not seek to benefit from the deceased, because this is an innovation.”

[Quoted in Fath Al-Baaree, 3/65]

2 Responses to “Seeking Benefit From The Dead, By Ibn Al-‘Arabi (Al-Maaliki)”

  1. kalsum Soul from islamicawakening Says:

    Abu Bakr As-Sideeq said: “Whoever worshipped Mohammed, Mohammed has died. Whoever worshipped Allah, Allah is Alive fis-Sama (above the heavens), and death does not touch Him.” [Ad-Darimi in Ar-Radd ‘Alal-Jahmiyyah].

    Muawiyah bin Al-Hakam As-Salmi said:

    “I had a slave-girl who used to herd sheep for me. One day I discovered that a wolf had killed one of her sheep, and I’m a man from the children of Adam, I get upset like they get upset, and I slapped her in the face. Then I went to the Prophet who impressed upon me the seriousness of my act. I said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, should I not set her free?’ He said, ‘Bring her to me.’ He asked her, ‘Where is Allah’, She said, ‘He is above the heavens.’ He said, ‘Who am I?’ She said, ‘You are the Messenger of Allah.’ He said, ‘Free her, for she is a believer.’ (Muslim and Abu Dawud)

  2. And have made hell obligatory on yourself if you die in that state.

Leave a reply:

